• Lethal Savage
  • The Ransom
  • Wait
  • The Next to Last Mistake
  • Behind These Hands
  • In the Midst of Innocence
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1

The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley

by Susan Örnbratt

From the shores of The Great Lakes to the slums of Bombay and a tiny island in between, this love story takes the reader on an intimate journey to unravel a family secret that’s lain hidden for generations.

To satisfy her wandering feet, eighteen-year-old Gillian McAllister is sent from Ireland to Canada in the summer of 1932.

She arrives with her Irish ways intact, determined not to let the wiles of crop duster Christian Hunter woo her into submission. Yet as the summer unfolds and the sweet taste of love grows, Gillian’s appeal lures more than she anticipates, shattering the life they’ve built.

Fourteen years, a Great Depression, and a World War later, Christian sets out to discover why Gillian was ripped from his life. What he discovers on the Isle of Man will change them both forever. Not even a thatched cottage by the sea, a spritely Gillian, or memories sprinkled on a page can mask the secret that has been buried for too long. But it isn’t until a set of poems is given to Gillian’s granddaughter that the real mystery—Gillian’s true secret—is freed.

Buy Now




Praise for The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley

"exuberantly readable...recommended"
–Historical Novel Society

"memorable—feisty, unexpected"
–Kirkus Reviews

"mixing the right amount of suspense and revelation to keep the reader turning pages."
–Julie Isgrigg, Baker and Taylor

Accolades for The Particular Appeal of Gillian Pugsley

2015 IBPA Benjamin Franklin Silver Award Winner (Romance)

2015 Foreword Reviews IndieFab Book of the Year Award Finalist (Romance)

Top 50 Must Read Books of 2015, Judith D. Collins

Read Local
Seal StandardsChecklist 01